Virginia ASSEMBL…age











{March 12, 2010}   The internet’s version of the Spawn of Satan

So I apologize, but this is a rant post for the day.  I wish to show the world the annoyances and curses of the Centro language company’s online homework program for German, Quia. ( apologize if the link does not work, I will post a screenshot if I can later if the link does not work)  This abomination of a homework site is not only hard to navigate and extrememly easy to trick so you don’t do any work in the first place, it also has some of the worst tech assistance I have ever worked with (or lask there of).  First, it takes about 5 clicks to find where you truly need to be  for your assignments.  Second, all, and I mean ALL, of the assignments that are computer check only you can submit with nothing written and it will give you all the right answers and lets you “try again”.  Now for a college student who has a lot of homework in a lot of classes, this is an easy way out and completely destroys the purpose of the program in the first place.  Also, the teacher check assignments give you aboslutely no assistance if you don’t know how to do it properly for some reason.  And as for the program itself, for me at least (for some reason) it does not register my posts if I log out.  And forget tech help, I have gotten no responses that have done any good, if I’ve gotten a response at all!  And one last thing, if you are learning German at an elementary level, how are you supposed to decipher a dialogue spoken by legitimate German speakers? The accents of the German people are very deep and hard to understand, it’s practically impossible to answer questions for those kinds of assignments for an English-speaking student.  Overall, I despise this program, the setup of the assignments themselves, and the assumptions the creators seem to make on their users that is, at least in the community of students I know using it, completely false.  It’s a realy good thing I love the language, or this would be destroying any chance I ahve at remembering anything about it.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
